#71: Non Ti Scordar Di Me, Via Quadronno


73 down. 28 to go.

It was Saturday, and I had been rolling around in bed ever since my wife left for the airport at five am. Not even a deli coffee — you know, the kind where you just ask for milk and sugar, and then look the other way so you don’t see how much of each they actually put in — could wake me up. I needed something more. I desperately needed a sandwich.

I was meeting the Italian Stallions, Elena and Elia, on the Atlantic/Pacific 4-train platform to trek all the way to the Upper East Side for the AIPAD Photo Show at the Park Avenue Armory. It’s one of the most important international photography art events in the world, showcasing work by legends such as Henri Cartier-Bresson, Ansel Adams, and the famous John Cyr. I’m on the Upper East Side less often than the gym, so not taking advantage of this rare event, and getting the only remaining sandwich in this otherwise barren area, would be silly. Cody met us just in the nick of time to get in on the action.

The Non Ti Scordar Di Me was different than every other sandwich I normally eat, and not just because of it’s complicated foreign name. It had speck. I wasn’t even sure what speck was before today. I thought it was a type of bird because that’s what it sounds like. It turns out that it’s ham, an awesome Italian ham. The sandwich had brie, which I know is a kind of cheese, but I can’t tell you the last time I bought or ordered something containing it. Personally, I’m a cheddar guy. Lastly, it had pâté, which I think I tried two years ago at some Jewish holiday. The three of these ingredients on a sandwich would be the last three ingredients I would have ever imagined.

Yet, it was amazing. The brie and pâté oozed together creating this rich, tasty, gooey substance. The speck was fresh, light and salty. And baguette was perfectly crispy and helped balance out the decadent sandwich. It was almost as good as John Cyr’s photographs.

As we were leaving the photo show, six-time Oscar nominee Glen Close, and the lover of all sandwiches, walked out behind me. I was speechless, though we made eye contact for a split second. And in that short time, I could tell she was thinking about same thing I was… as she walked off in the direction of her next sandwich.

Via Quadronno | 25 East 73rd Street between Madison and 5th Avenue

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

