#61: Le Focaccine, Sant Ambroeus


71 down. 30 to go.

I have no idea how I could be so careless. For more than a year and a half, I’ve lived and breathed sandwiches. I’ve studied New York Magazine’s list of the 101 best like the SATs. I’ve read over it more times than Calvin and Hobbes Something Under the Bed Is Drooling. I’ve carefully planned out each and every sandwich to the tee. I’ve traveled to the outer banks of Queens, Brooklyn and even the Upper East Side! Let’s put it this way: I HAD A SANDWICH PARTY FOR MY 30TH BIRTHDAY!!!

Therefore, I have no idea how I missed it. A sandwich right in my backyard, a measly ten-minute walk from where I work. What should have been accomplished months ago, an easy slam dunk, is only now, finally being accomplished.

It was a beautiful day outside, way too warm for the middle of January. I meandered through the beautiful streets of the West Village with my buddy Shayna, who after months of hard work, was soon to be only one sandwich short of making her way onto the leader board.

In my head, I pictured Sant Ambroeus to be more of a café. However, I was mistaken as were seated at the elegantly charming, picturesque-looking restaurant. Our sandwiches didn’t take long to come out, though there wasn’t really anything to cook. On the menu it’s listed as focaccine, but who are they kidding? It’s a croissant — a square croissant. And it’s probably one of the best croissants you’ve ever tasted. It’s super light, moist and buttery. And in between the two halves of flaky goodness, lies thinly sliced pieces of salty proscuitto di Parma and thick, slabs of fresh mozz. If I ever visited Italy, this is exactly what I imagine myself doing.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to travel all the way to Italy for that authentic proscuitto sandwich. It was just a short stroll from work to knock another one off the list. I got lucky this time — the rest won’t be so easy.

Sant Ambroeus | 259 West 4th Street and Perry

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

