#22: Three Cheese Sandwich with Smoked Ham, Breslin Bar


63 down. 38 to go.

They say the early bird catches the worm. Well, worms never gave me much of an incentive to get out of bed. Sandwiches, on the other hand, now there’s motivation — but not worm sandwiches. That’s just gross. Typically sandwiches are a lunchtime affair, allowing the “early bird” to sleep in a little. Unfortunately, that was not the case with this one.

The Breslin Bar, sibling of The Spotted Pig, made its way to the #22 slot of NYC’s 101 best sandwiches with their oven baked 3-cheese sandwich with house smoked ham. Mouth watering yet? Well, it’s so good that they decided to make it a little challenging for me to eat. See, this sandwich is only served at breakfast, Monday thru Friday from 7:00am – 11:45am. There is a 3-cheese sandwich that is offered at brunch on the weekends, but you can’t get it with the smoked ham, and I’m a stickler for the rules…and, of course, wanted the house smoked ham.

Well, desperate times call for desperate measures. This past Friday, I set my alarm a little earlier. I spent a little less time picking out my outfit and styling my hair. I skipped Saved by Bell, and I met my friend Elena at The Breslin at 8:30am, leaving ourselves just enough time to down a quick sandwich and make it to work on time.

The 3-cheese sandwich with house smoked ham is made with only finest ingredients. It’s name is both modest and misleading. This sandwich is actually not made with three as you might expect, but four delicious cheeses:

CHEESE #1: Raclette, a cow’s milk cheese from France.
CHEESE #2: Montrachet, a goat’s milk cheese from Burgundy.
CHEESE #3: Idiazabal, a sheep’s milk from the Basque Country in Spain.
CHEESE #4: And Parmiggiano. I was going to write Parmesan, but Elena the Italiano informed me that’s not it’s name. I assume “parm: wouldn’t have worked either. Anyway, the parmiggiano was baked into the sliced bread, which made me wonder why this isn’t the standard for all bread?

While I couldn’t distinguish the taste of each individual cheese, together this quartet was incredibly, edibly, delicious. And the thin slices of ham added a smokiness and saltiness that made this sandwich unbelievably good. It was the mother of all grilled cheese sandwiches. It was the breakfast sandwich that lasted the entire day. Neither of us had another bite to eat until 9pm later that night. While it was certainly the most I’ve paid for a grilled cheese, if you’re looking for the perfect one, look no further.

Breslin Bar | 16 West 29th Street between Broadway and 5th Avenue


Friends, family and fans, I need your help and generosity. I’ve decided to use The Quest for good and raise money to help the almost billion people without clean water. People less fortunate than us, that spend their days walking long distances to collect dirty water that gives them life threatening illnesses. I’ve started a fundraising campaign and if you’ve enjoyed reading about The Quest, consider making a donation. You can make a generous donation here >

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #22: Three Cheese Sandwich with Smoked Ham, Breslin Bar

  1. sachafeinman says:

    I would pay $16 for a grilled cheese sandwich… So long as it wasn’t recommended to me by some smarmy, smart-ass New York sports fan.

Leave a Reply

