#100: The Elvis, Peanut Butter & Co.


42 down. 59 to go.

I’ve never been a big Elvis fan. Sure, he’s the King and all, but in general I’ve always found his music to be a little wonky – great dresser though. Perhaps if Jerry Garcia or Tupac had a favorite sandwich I’d be more excited to try that. When I spotted this sandwich on the list, despite the fact that the King flew all the way to Denver on his private jet to try this sandwich, it didn’t have me all shook up. Rather, the contents of this sandwich had me puzzled. However, this place is located extremely close to where I work so it’s been on my radar for some time now. And before I left for work this morning, my wife Jamie suggested I have a peanut butter, banana and honey sandwich for lunch today. I don’t think she realized that particular sandwich happened to be on the list. I also don’t think she realized that it included bacon on it. Oh well – minor details. At that point it was a done deal. Graceland, here I come.

As I walked into Peanut Butter & Co. on a beautiful Wednesday afternoon it was definitely with a suspicious mind. I ordered The Elvis, uh-huh. It was good, not my type of sandwich, but good. The bacon, which is clearly the questionable ingredient in this otherwise standard sandwich, was actually quite mild. There were subtle hints of bacon and the occasional bits of crunchiness, but in general peanut butter was the dominating factor. Since the peanut butter is top quality, this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I would even go so far as to say there was a little too much peanut butter. It was difficult to pick up the other flavors of the honey, banana, and yes, bacon. The peanut butter was really good though – smooth, creamy, and as always it stuck to the roof of my mouth. It might even influence me to make more peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in the near future. However, not to be cruel, I don’t think I will need another Elvis in the foreseeable future.

I did listen to some Elvis that afternoon. Not that bad.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #100: The Elvis, Peanut Butter & Co.

  1. Mo Scarpelli says:

    MORE sandwiches!!! more, more, more!

Leave a Reply

