#85: Roast Pork Special, Shorty’s


31 down. 70 to go.

Another Phish show/Sandwich combo. Life doesn’t get much better than this. I had been scouting out Shorty’s for days now in anticipation of the Phish show at MSG. I knew this would be a prime spot with the Garden in close walking distance, but not close enough to overlap with crowded Wookie Phish pregaming. I redirected my crew here, downloaded ample Phish songs on the jukebox, filled my beer and sat back, ready to be blown away by a delicious cheese steak.

Alas, I was disappointed. Perhaps my expectations, mixed with my excitement for the night, were set too high. Or I should have had a smaller lunch so I was craving that sandwich even more than I already was. Maybe my idealistic vision of a traditional cheese steak altered my taste buds, not allowing me to properly enjoy this variation. For whatever reason, the sandwich did not deliver.

I loved the concept. Despite being your typical pub, Shorty’s attempted to raise the bar by dishing out unusual combinations or spin offs of classic sandwiches. This cheese steak, the Roast Pork Special, was made with saved pork loin, broccoli rabe, and provolone cheese — sounds good on paper. While I love the bitterness of broccoli rabe, it seemed to dominate the sandwich. I could barely taste the flavor of the roast pork, or even the provolone. It was not a bad sandwich by any means. It just needed more juice or more cheese or something to give it a little Om-pa-pa.

I did enjoy the bar though, the company, and some tasty onion rings. And once Phish stepped on stage, the memories of a disappointing sandwich slowly faded, and they made up for it with a rockin’ show.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

