#80: Torta Ahogada, La Superior


29 down. 72 to go.

I made a deal with my wife: I go to this party with you, and you go with me to get a sandwich. Sure enough, later that night we were at La Superior with the waitress about to take our order.

The sandwich that made the list is the Torta Ahogada. According to wikipedia it’s a Guadalajara staple, and if that’s true, I’m moving there. For those of you who don’t speak Spanish, Torta Ahogada means “sandwich in pork soup”. Oh wait, that’s not true. It actually translates to “drowned sandwich” which is more clever and just as accurate. Either way, it’s delicious. I’m not quite sure why more sandwiches aren’t made like this.

It’s a shredded pork sandwich served on soggy pork infused, toasted sour dough bread that still has hints of crunchiness. The sandwich is then placed in a bowl filled with a spicy tomato sauce, so before long everything is blended together into one delicious pork soup sandwich. This was my first time eating a sandwich with a spoon! Fortunately, it won’t be the last because I will be back.

And the party actually ended up being pretty fun!

La Superior | 295 Berry Street, Brooklyn


Enjoying The Quest? Than I need your help and generosity. I’ve decided to use The Quest to help raise money to help the almost billion people without clean water. People less fortunate than us, that spend their days walking long distances to collect dirty water that gives them life threatening illnesses. I’m more than half way to my goal and your donation can make a difference. Please make a generous donation here >

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

