#74: Cuma, Farinella


22 down. 79 to go.

I’m getting married in four days. I’m supposed to be working out and dieting. I’m supposed to be running errands for the wedding and designing our programs. I’m supposed to be thinking about how my love for Jamie has grown over the years and now we are starting a new life together. Instead, all I can think about are sandwiches. And when will be my next one.

I knew what my next sandwich was going to be. Now, the only question was – do I have time? I raced out of work at 6:30pm knowing I had to TA a class at Pratt Institute at 8pm with a 15 minute commute from the restaurant. In between, I had to exchange two shirts at JCrew in SoHo for my rehearsal dinner this Friday. Surprisingly, even with The Quest for 101 going on, I needed a smaller size shirt. I leave JCrew at 7:10. Plan sandwich is a-go.

Farinella is the type of place that you wish was next door to your apartment, but is unfortunately located in between the Financial District and Chinatown. How convenient! Anyway, the moment you entire the Farinella world you know you’re in for a treat. Everyone, from the staff to the customers have a huge smile on their face. Even their logo is smiling. And in about 7-9 minutes, I was smiling too.

The Cuma was simply amazing. It was like a deconstructed eggplant parm. I’m not even sure what that means, but I’ve seen enough Top Chef to get the idea. The bread was crispy and fresh. The eggplant was delicious and oily. The cherry tomatoes and basil added those hints of eggplant parm. And the fresh, slightly melted mozzarella was the icing on the cake…or in this case, the cheese on the sandwich.

I will certainly be going back…next time I’m walking aimlessly between Chinatown and the Financial District.

Farinella | 90 Worth Street and Broadway


Enjoying The Quest? Than I need your help and generosity. I’ve decided to use The Quest to help raise money to help the almost billion people without clean water. People less fortunate than us, that spend their days walking long distances to collect dirty water that gives them life threatening illnesses. I’m more than half way to my goal and your donation can make a difference. Please make a generous donation here >

This entry was posted in Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

