#20: Sloppy Bao, Baoguette


18 down. 83 to go

Oh, what a day! My first two sandwicher! Probably not the healthiest of days, The Quest is too short not to enjoy this!

Maybe I was just still glowing from the previous sandwich, but I had a feeling this one was going to be special. I had that “before a great concert excitement” feeling. I was not let down in the least. And I will continue to endorse this sandwich to anyone that will listen.

Baoguette seemed like a hole in the wall from the outside. One the inside, this was a joint that served me a sandwich clearly deserving to be on this list. The Sloppy Bao was like a mature, Vietnamese sloppy joe, and it wasn’t even that sloppy. I nervously asked for it spicy, and it had just enough heat to make my eyes water and for me to get a second Peach Snapple Ice Tea, but not enough where I couldn’t put it down. The sweeeeetness of the of the curried beef and green mango really balanced out the spiciness of all those jalapeños. The bread was perfect – fresh and crunchy. It was the perfect size for a sandwich. I wasn’t disgustingly full, yet I definitely didn’t think about food for the rest of the night.

And this baby is only $7. I also found there is another Baoguette less than 10 blocks from where I work. I taste danger.

Baoguette | 61 Lexington Avenue and 25th Street


Enjoying The Quest? Than I need your help and generosity. I’ve decided to use The Quest to help raise money to help the almost billion people without clean water. People less fortunate than us, that spend their days walking long distances to collect dirty water that gives them life threatening illnesses. I’m more than half way to my goal and your donation can make a difference. Please make a generous donation here >

This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #20: Sloppy Bao, Baoguette

  1. Robin says:

    I love your blog, dude! And let’s go here for lunch, right? Right next to work?

  2. greg yagoda says:

    YES! This place is awesome. I will happily go with you any time. There’s actually a surprising number of places on this list close to where we work.

    I still haven’t had the sandwich from Keste which is right around the corner.

Leave a Reply

