#16: Connecticut Lobster Roll, Red Hook Lobster Pound


10 down. 91 to go.

USA! USA! USA!

Independence Day is right! My fiance just left for Ethiopia for a week so I am free to do whatever I choose. And I choose to get a sandwich.

It was a beautiful day to celebrate the fourth. After dropping off my lady at the airport like a true gentleman, I booked it DUMBO to meet up with my friends, Cyr and Ajay, for beers. We found the perfect spot. Red Hook Lobster Pound set up a tent in DUMBO right next to the The Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory. We scouted out a table and looking out over the water the Brooklyn Bridge overhead, sat and devoured a giant, fresh lobster roll. Yet, there were two problems.

The first problem was beers were $8 dollars which is unacceptable. Something had to be done. So, we went to the nearest market and picked up a couple of six packs. Tables under the tent were becoming more and more available as people starting heading to their holiday plans so it wasn’t like we were taking any business away. And we did each buy a beer and lobster roll so we were paying customers. However we justified it, we sat and drank our less expensive beers. Life was good.

The second problem: I ordered the wrong sandwich. I’m an idiot. I later realized that I choose the Maine Lobster Roll which was made with mayo, instead of butter. I asked the man serving the lobster rolls which sandwich made the list and he led me astray. Devastated as I was, I don’t think there’s a huge difference between the two sandwiches so I’m going to count it for now. Next summer, I will happily return and have the Connecticut style sandwich.

As for the Main Lobster Roll, it was fantastic. Huge chunks of Maine lobster, wedged into a large, toasted white bun. The meat was tossed with just the right amount of mayo where it didn’t over power the sandwich. You could really taste the freshness of the lobster and eat bite was as if you were taking another bite of the ocean. Scallions were sprinkled on top to give the sandwich a nice added crunch. What was once an eight hour drive to Maine to satisfy my Lobster Roll craving, is now a twenty minute subway ride.

After sitting for quite awhile finishing our beers, we got hungry for round two. Fortunately, some of the best hot dogs in Brooklyn were located across the street. The Landing, only opened during rare summer hours, is a hot dog cart in the middle of a parking lot. They serve about six different style hot dogs, each looking better than the next. It’s hard to resist the temptation of trying them all. After downing a couple of dogs, we went back to my place to watch the fire works from my roof and continue celebrating our Independence Day.

Didn’t I promise you fireworks?

Red Hook Lobster Pound | 284 Van Brunt Street, Brooklyn

This entry was posted in Seafood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #16: Connecticut Lobster Roll, Red Hook Lobster Pound

  1. Pingback: #87: Peppers and Eggs, Defontes |

Leave a Reply

