#60: Tea Sandwiches, Fatty Crab


2 down. 99 to go.

Funnily enough, I ended up at the Fatty Crab a few weeks ago to have dinner with my friend Josh. He picked the place and showed up excited to eat. Little did I know that a small part of this meal would play a large role in a future endeavor of mine. Apparently, Tea Sandwiches are small sandwiches commonly served at dinner parties. I don’t attend many dinner parties and as a result, haven’t been exposed to many tea sandwiches before. Josh is the type of person who wants to try everything on the menu because he’s a foodie. So when he suggested we order the Tea sandwiches, along with everything else on the menu, I resisted at first because it seemed expensive for an appetizer and I was feeling broke. And it was made with pork belly, though popular in Cantonese cuisine, are not often to be found in Washington, D.C. That’s from Clue, but basically I don’t eat a lot of pork belly.

It didn’t take me long to concede and I’m glad I did. At first I was shocked. How can a nice restaurant like the Fatty Crab serve these sandwiches on normal, supermarket white bread? I’m still not quite sure how or why, but it did make all the other ingredients stand out even more. Hopefully, that was the point. The pork belly was awesome and had some really nice Asian flavor to it. It was accompanied with homemade pickled scallions and cilantro that gave the otherwise mushy sandwich a little crunch. They were fresh and made for a delicious snack. If served at a dinner party, I would be picking at them the entire night.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #60: Tea Sandwiches, Fatty Crab

  1. Pingback: #10: Porchetta Sandwich, Porchetta |

Leave a Reply

